Author Topic: Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai win Nobel peace prize  (Read 715 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline T3rminator

  • Always believe in yourself...
  • Administrator
  • Techbits Elite Member
  • *
  • Points: 5953
  • Posts: 2622
  • Always believe in yourself...

    • MAIT
    • _
    • View Profile
Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai win Nobel peace prize
« on: October 10, 2014, 10:34:10 pm »
History was made on Friday when an Indian and a Pakistani national jointly shared the Nobel peace prize for 2014, the first time ever.

India's Kailash Satyarthi and Pakistan's Malala Yousafzai were awarded the Nobel peace prize 2014 jointly for "showing great personal courage and in their struggle against the suppression of children and for the right of all children to education".

Child labour activist Satyarthi became India's 8th Nobel laureate while the champion for children's education Malala became her country's second citizen to be given the most coveted prize. Malala is also the youngest to be awarded the globally prestigious annual prize.

The two will split the 690,000 ($1.11m) prize announced by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

The committee said 60-year-old Satyarthi maintained Mahatma Gandhi's tradition and headed various forms of protests and demonstrations, all peaceful, focusing on the grave exploitation of children for financial gain.

According to the committee "he has also contributed to the development of important international conventions on children's rights".

Talking about Malala, the committee said "Despite her youth, Malala has already fought for several years for the right of girls to education, and has shown by example that children and young people, too, can contribute to improving their own situations. This she has done under the most dangerous circumstances. Through her heroic struggle she has become a leading spokesperson for girls' rights to education".

The Nobel peace prize has been awarded to 124 Laureates - to 100 individuals and 24 organizations till now. Since the International Committee of the Red Cross was awarded three times and Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees was awarded twice there are 100 individuals and 21 organizations that have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) - an international organisation working since 1997 to convince countries to give up chemical weapons besides checking and confirming the destruction of existing chemical weapons had won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2013.

Only registered users can see contents. Please click here to Register or Login.
You do not have permission to give points
point 0 Points

This topic did not receive points.


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49